In Streamtime, we have three levels of status: Paused, In Play and Complete. These statuses can be applied to team members, items, and jobs. The philosophy behind these statuses is simple: they're designed to help you manage multiple jobs in different stages. Let's go through them one by one.

Paused

You might be in a planning stage, awaiting assets, or quote approval. That's any part of a job that you can't (or shouldn't) continue to log time towards, or a team member that's not yet able to (or shouldn't) start work. In essence, Paused means inactive, for now. This means that Paused jobs don't appear by default on your schedule, and Paused To Do's are not visible on individual team member's To Do screens.

In Play

We're all go, baby! This status is for team members, items, or jobs that are actively being worked on. Jobs In Play are the default visibility for the schedule, and they'll appear in your To Do sidebar.

Complete

This is the Done version of status. Completed team members have finished their work on the item. Completed items are marked as done. When items are complete, you can't change their status unless you change the status of a team member.

How do statuses on different levels relate to each other?

You'll see that you can change the status of team members on an item individually, and the item will reflect the statuses of the team members assigned. If any assigned team member is In Play, the item will be In Play (even if everyone else is paused or complete). If all statuses on an item are Paused, or Complete, the item status will reflect this.

You can change the status of all team members on items at once by changing the status of the item itself — it will flow through to the team members assigned. For example, you have a quote for a particular item out for approval, but you've assigned team members and hours. You don't want them working on it till the quote is approved, so you pause an item, and all team members will become Paused. Once the quote is approved, you can change the item back to In Play, and the team members will be In Play.

You can do this on the job level as well. Similar to items, the job status will reflect the items within. If anything on the job is in In Play, the job will be In Play. Again, to change the status of all items and all team members at once, simply change the job status.

To bring a job out of Complete, however, you'll have to change the status of a team member on an item to In Play.

By default, all new jobs will be In Play on creation.

How do statuses change team member, item or job behaviour?

Statuses are lightweight indicators of where a team member, item or job is sitting. They do, however, change certain behaviour.

When something is Paused, To Do's don't appear on a team member's To Do screen. On the Schedule, Paused To Do's are visually differentiated by a dashed line around the To Do. Schedulers are also able to toggle their inclusion into availability on and off. However, if you create a To Do from your To Do screen or from the job on a Paused item, the status of the team member on the item will switch to In Play.

If a team member is Paused on an item, it won't appear on their To Do sidebar.

When an item is Complete, you must change the status of a team member to activate it again from the job page. You can do this by manually changing their status, or by adding a To Do for a team member on a completed item.

You'll also see that when creating a To Do, the dropdown will sort items into My Items (In Play items a team member is assigned to), My Paused Items, My Completed Items and Other Items.

Statuses of a job also change whether they appear by default in the schedule or jobs lists. Only In Play jobs will appear in the schedule and Paused + In Play jobs in the jobs list. Add a filter to include Completed or Archived jobs in either of these product areas.

And what if something is really old, so I don't want to see it automatically, but I want to keep the data incase I need to access it later?

You can Archive jobs if they're done and dusted, so you can keep your Jobs list views neat. Once something is archived, you'll have to Restore it to make any changes, and they won't necessarily show up in your jobs list. To include them in your jobs list searches, add a filter for Job Status and ensure Archived is selected.

How do I best use statuses in my workflow?

We recommend utilising statuses to help differentiate what stage of a job you're at. If you're in planning mode, putting jobs/items in Paused helps you create tentative bookings (learn more about Paused To Do's here). Once something is finished, it's helpful to mark it as Complete so that it no longer shows up as default when you're wanting to see active jobs.

We also surface your planned and projected profit margins on the job page. The projected profit margin algorithm accuracy will work best when item statuses are utilised and you ensure there are accurate cost rates for team members stored. Find out more about how these profit margins are calculated here.

Did this answer your question?